District MMC’s announced

Posted in Latest News

Lentswe, Orkney - Councillors Wendy Makgathe, Lesego Molapisi, Rose Thabanchu, Zanele Mphafudi, Raymond Mampe and Mpho Matsapola are new Members of the Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality Mayoral Committee.

They will serve as political heads of various departments in Community Services, Corporate Support and Information Communications Technology, Budget and Treasury, Technical Services and Development Training, Local Economic Development and Tourism and Special Projects respectively.
The MMC’s where announced recently by Executive Mayor of the Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality Nikiwe Num during a media briefing session held at the Disaster Risk Management Centre in Irene Park, Klerksdorp.

“Section 61 of the Municipal Structures Act supported and collaborated with the mandate functions of the Executive Mayor and provides us with the opportunity to be here today.

We have been called to duty as mandated by our people and duly dispatched by the African National Congress to serve all of our people in this District.

“Ours is to ensure delivery of basic services to residents, management and oversight of systems which includes finance, supply chain, safety of residents, safeguarding of public assets, disaster management, forging sound inter-governmental relations for smooth provision of services across all spheres to engineer a kind of development which is people-centred and people-driven, taking into cognisance, the need to continuously protect our environment.

“Critics who do not care about putting context to history as it unfolds have decided to summarise the recent local government elections results as a crisis supposedly having befallen the African National Congress.

“To such critics, may they be reminded of the words of Andri Gander-Frank as he says ‘A crisis is a period in which a diseased social, economic and political body or system cannot live on as before and is obliged, on pain of death, to undergo transformations that will give it a new lease of life’.
“Therefore, this period of crisis is a historical moment for danger and suspense during which the crucial decisions and transformations are made. We should determine the future development of the system,” remarked Councillor Num.

“All of us are expected to indicate how many communities we have served, how many are compliant, what are we doing as a District to ensure that they are compliant. So we are going to be setting standards, monitoring compliance, but also unleash the potential of the people in the district who are impacted and affected by many other issues.”

The mayor said the decision of the District Council to trim the size of the Mayoral Committee is guided by both fiscal constraints and the need for initiates.

“The Structures Act provides that we can appoint up to a 10-member Mayo-ral Committee. You would realise that in the previous dispensation, there were four members of the Mayoral Committee. The clustering of some departments made it very difficult to measure impact on communities because the most two components we clubbed together to compete for the limited resources.

What we did was to deal with planning, infrastructure technical services from local economic development so that there is measurable impact and we are able to focus on areas that are critical.

“We have services that are given inherently by the District from the Structures Act, the Constitution and the mandate of the District, most of whom we are not performing because of budgetary constraints. This is why we have readjusted by limiting personnel to channel the budget to services needed by our people, with the District Development Model taken into consideration.”